Please help me understand the differences between 620 vs 1200 ute

1972-1979 Datsun 620 forums. All 620-specific topics and discussion can be found here.
RookDatsun
Car: ???

First post here. I'm very new to the Datsun truck scene, but always had the dream of owning a 240z and a 2000gtr. After recently seeing a video of the original 1200 ute Hakotora, I quickly replaced the idea of 2000gtr with a more affordable Datsun truck. My research has made me realize 1200 ute really isn't an option because I live in the US, but perhaps the 620 would still be a great project. In my low 30s, all of these vehicles are before my time, so hopefully some of you can help me understand the differences and similarities of 620 and 1200 ute. Some questions are below:

If I did build a Datsun truck, I would be highly interested in having a 2000gtr front end cosmetic conversion. This is already sold for a 1200 ute. Does a 620 have the exact same front end as the 1200 ute?

The engine bay of the 1200 ute looks rather small, perhaps limiting engine swap options. Do you have any comments on engine swaps in the 620 if I wanted to build it for some racing and track fun?

What are some major differences and similarities between the two trucks that interested buyers should be aware off?

What are some common issues with the 620, and what are the common solutions/parts to resolve that?

At this point, ill take any info. It is difficult to understand the differences between all of the Datsun models when I do not know anyone personally that shares interest or has knowledge in the field. Heavy thank you to anyone who comments.

AZhitman
Administrator
Car: 58 L210, 63 Bluebird RHD, 64 NL320, 65 SPL310, 66 411 RHD, 67 WRL411, 68 510 SR20, 75 280Z RB25, 77 620 SR20, 79 B310, 90 S13, 92 SE-R, 92 Silvia Qs, 98 S14.

Welcome aboard.