General Brake Pads & Rotors Discussion

Nissan Rogue forum - Includes Nissan Qashqai and Nissan Dualis as well.
ImStricken06
Car: 2008 Rogue(sold)
2013 Santa Fe
2016 Sorento

Mysticrhythm wrote:Quick question guys...I have a 2008 Rogue that I've never had to replace the brake pads on. Sitting right over 124k now and in the last couple months my brakes have started to squeak when I come to a stop...nothing grinding or earsplitting, just a definite high pitched squeak. I'm a total car noob so in doing some brief research I'm shocked to see that it looks like I should have had to replace the pads long before now. My question is this...since the mileage is as high as it is are my rotors likely going to need replacing too? What about calipers? There is no shuddering at all when I brake.

My husband is probably going to insist he do the work himself, he's by no means an expert but he's good at researching and figuring stuff out (hell I'm sure I could do it with the right tools, vids make it look pretty simple and frankly I'd love to have a go at them myself but I know he'll insist he do them lol) but I'm afraid he'll try to do the least possible to save money and just replace the pads only when much more might need to be done. Any advice appreciated :)
welcome aboard! thank you for posting your question in the correct thread.

regarding your post: congrats on making it that far on OEM/stock pads. thats a first!
i know you said your brakes dont "shake" (bad rotors), but i will tell you this: at your mileage, i would replace the rotors & pads for sure. i would inspect the calipers inside-out. there is no reason to be cheap now, and replace the pads only, and then have to go BACK in and do the rotors within a few months anyway. time is money.

ezb57e