New user / 1970 510

All over the world, Nissan products are involved in road racing, track days, time attack and autocross.
jbl

What's up everyone.

New to the forum and it seems like this is the sub I'll be posting in the most.

I have a 1970 510. As it sits, it's set up for Autocross (bought that way). My intentions are to take it from that setup and get it endurance racing. I'm new to Datsun though, so I know I'll need some help along the way. I have some track experience and know my way around an engine--old V8s, a 1999 Accord (fwiw) and now this Datsun.

My biggest concerns with the car right now are:

R160 LSD 3.90. I'm wondering if this is a little bit too high for what I want. The straight it'll see the most of is 2100' long with a fast entry. Is it as simple as swapping out the ring and pinion gears?

The engine is a tuned 1.8....flat top pistons, 11.25 to 1 and some parts I still need to know more about (previous owner says there's an L9 cam currently sitting in it...not sure if that means anything though). Need to ID heads as well.

Brakes look stock. Thin rotors up front and drums out back.

4gal fuel cell will be useless to me.

We need a new floor pan in the passenger side.

Also sitting on a ton of spares including a stock 1.6 and a partially built 1.8.

Definitely in over my head for now, but that's what makes it worth it in the end.

WDRacing
Car: 95 240SX, 99 BMW 540i, 01 Chevy Express, 14 Ford Escape

Welcome aboard JBL! Nothing wrong with being in over your head man, we've all been there. Ok, maybe not all, but I sure have.

WD

jbl

Are there any other people taking the 510 out to endurance races? I have no idea what to expect from this car...all of it is completely foreign to me. The only other import I've raced was a heavy FWD sedan.

She's a mean sounding little thing though...beyond excited to get it on the track.

WDRacing
Car: 95 240SX, 99 BMW 540i, 01 Chevy Express, 14 Ford Escape