Front Struts Dilemma

General discussion forum for J30 and M30 owners!
efroubi
Car: 1997 Infiniti J30t

My front struts are so bad.. I'm no mechanic and seeing the pictures in this thread scare me. :ohno:

removing-oem-cartridge-from-front-strut-t584131.html :tisk:

I've done the rear struts, timing belt, main seal, cam seals, power steering rack, power steering pump, alternator, water pump, thermostat, rotors, pads, belts, EGR pipe cleaning, spark plugs, and I also changed the passenger side front strut mount a year ago because the bb's came out. But this has me all stressed out.. Its my daily driver. I feel I'm going to run into an issue and not have a car for a few days. My plan is to do one side each day so I can use the car the next day.

I bought KYB's 365056 because I couldn't find Monroe 73948 anywhere.

Anyone know which boots I need? Amazon says KYB SB104's are frequently purchased with 365056's.
Anyone have a shim size I'll need on the top? I bought the copper shims mentioned in the other thread but those won't work on the 365056's. They fit but only leave like 3 threads showing. No good.

Any advice? :poke:

macgiver