Engine oil

A forum for the legendary Nissan Pathfinder and Infiniti QX4.
A1218
Car: 1997 Nissan Pathfinder SE

I’ve always used Mobil 1 10w-30 high mileage Advanced fully synthetic oil, but is the Castrol Edge Advanced Fully Synthetic High Mileage with Titanium any better?

macgiver

Some kind of Titanium METAL? , alloy ? , is floating around in the Castrol , right ?

Reminds me of waaay back when another HUGE Corp....ARCO put Graphite (floating around in their oil).
Both this Titanium 'stuff ' , AND Graphite conductive ??????
The Arco Graphite would FOUL plugs badly - what a F'n mistake !!!!! Figured out YEARS later !!!!
Y 'all be the judge of this Castrol with TITANIUM 'dust' in your motor
But , really , what the hell do I really know - ya know .

mdmellott
Car: '13 Kia Soul+ 2.0L AT
'02 Pathfinder SE 3.5L AT P/4WD

I've been using Castrol Edge High Mileage for about 10 years. I've switched on a couple of oil changes to try out Mobil 1 and Valvoline high mileage, full synthetic oils, but went right back to Castrol each time because Castrol burns much less between my oil changes than the other two. The "Fluid Titanium Technology" in Castrol Edge is clever marketing and a proprietary chemistry but there are no actual titanium metal particles floating around. Think about it like, someone with iron-poor blood will take a dietary supplement like Geritol, which has iron but not iron metal particles. Unlike some Post and Kellogg cereals that are "iron fortified" which can have the metal particles extracted out using a strong neodymium magnet. But I digress. Castrol has no such particles in their oils.

Mike W.
Car: 2003 Infiniti QX4 with a drinking problem. Gas and oil.
2002 BMW 525it
1998 BMW 328is

macgiver wrote:
Fri Sep 17, 2021 10:51 am
Some kind of Titanium METAL? , alloy ? , is floating around in the Castrol , right ?

Reminds me of waaay back when another HUGE Corp....ARCO put Graphite (floating around in their oil).