Co-Ownership/Partnership of Race Car Questions

All over the world, Nissan products are involved in road racing, track days, time attack and autocross.
Rev_D21
Car: 1986.5 D21 LB HD 2WD V6 5Speed
1991 D21 Reg 2WD Auto
1995 D21 Reg 2WD 5Spd
1996 D21 Reg 4WD 5Spd
2012 Versa 1.6S 5-Speed

I was asked if I would like to become partners in the building of a Nissan race truck. Naturally I was flattered but it is something I have never done before so I have questions for teams that may have gone the same route. The truck is currently 100% stock right now. I'd be working on weekends building and learning with help along the way. Basically I'd be buying half of the vehicle and contributing my knowledge to build it with the help of another established race team, I would co-own the vehicle which means I would be able to race it and not just sit on the sidelines. I was told that partnering up is a great way to get involved in the sport. For the people who have gone this route, what advice can you give me? What things should I watch out for? What documentation should I be looking for to protect myself? I think it's a neat idea even to co-own a race vehicle in general but am I being naive?

flohtingPoint
Car: 2004 Z16 Corvette Z06

Before we go any further, what type of racing is this for and with what org.

Rev_D21
1991 D21 Reg 2WD Auto
1995 D21 Reg 2WD 5Spd
1996 D21 Reg 4WD 5Spd
2012 Versa 1.6S 5-Speed

Building a land speed D21.

Bubba1
Car: 2003 Nissan 350z
2008 Acura TSX
2008 Toyota Corolla S
2001 Toyota Avalon XLS