Am I crazy for wanting to replace head gasket?

General discussion forum about all things Datsun! NOTE: If your thread is specific to a certain model, please make sure you post it in the proper forum.
justinae
Car: 1980 Datsun 720 King Cab

I've got a 1980 King Cab with a blown head gasket. I've been quoted at $700. I thought I might try it myself. Here are the reasons I shouldn't:

I'm a carpenter, not a mechanic.I'll end up with the engine torn apart and it'll cost me twice as much at the mechanic.It'll take me thousands of hours.

Is there any reason I should attempt this? How difficult is it?

thanks,Justin

PEZi
Car: Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX Mitsubishi Racing Edition

i'll see if i can get you a DIY on it.... for someone with some basic skills like you and carpentry... it should be easy with the instructions in front of you... but its not easy by any means

justinae

PEZi720 wrote:i'll see if i can get you a DIY on it
That would be cool. Thanks!

PEZi

here ya go... there are two articles in here... one for removal and one for installation

zerothread/474226

justinae

Thanks so much for the link. My engine is the L20, not the NAPZ. Is there a tutorial for this engine?

much appreciated,Justin

seang
Car: Ford Fiesta ST

Here is the Datsun factory service manuals (FSM's). zerothread/379438 It is the same as the sticky, I just posted it for ease of navigation. Step by step instructions should be in here.

You might need to buy some tools and rent ones you don't need to use more than once. I know Autozone and other places rent tools for free, you just pay a charge that you get 100% refunded when you return the undamaged tool. I don't know, though, it depends on what kind of tools you already got.

I would not want to pay 700 dollars just to find out that something else was wrong. Hopefully nothing is, but don't get discouraged just yet. I would rather you do perform the job youself.

If you lived closer I would probably help in person.