[New Member] '89 240sx Hatch Restoration & RB20DET Rebuild

General discussion forum about the 240sx, and a great place to introduce yourself to the board!
Mitec
Car: RB20 S13 hatch

Hello all - figured it was about time that I started a build thread and benefitted from everyone's knowledge/advice.

Since I know no one likes reading, I'm going to try to keep my comments short. I'm an undergrad ChemE student, and decided to take a year off from school to complete an internship. As a 21-year old keen on making financially responsible decisions, I spent my first paycheck on a half-finished project car (being from NY, I couldn't say no to a 30-year-old japanese car with no rust.) :naughty:

I have ZERO experience building / working on engines, though I've done a fair bit of bodywork and audio/electronics installations. So I'm learning as I go :biggrin:

'89 hatch with over 200k on the body. Despite that, the only rust is a small patch on the trunk floor which will be an easy fix. Can't say the wiring is in good condition though, there are bare wires poking out on the headlight harness. Going to be fixing the entire chassis harness at some point, not entirely sure how I'm going to go about that yet though.

Started off ripping out the interior to look for any rust spots hiding under the carpet. The tar sound-deadener stuff from the factory is gross as s**t, and will be coming out eventually. Got the car ripped apart when someone decided to complain to my apt complex about my "mechanical work on an automobile," so I moved the car and paused working on it. Didn't know that taking out door panels counted as mechanical work :wtf2:
(Yes, the car came with a fire extinguisher. Guess I wasn't the only one skeptical of the wiring :facepalm: )

Finally got a space in a garage where I could pull the engine, thanks to my awesome friend. Borrowed a hoist from a coworker, and out she came. 10,000lb break-strength tow straps ftw!