2015 Altima 2.5L O/D off question

General discussion area for the L33-chassis Altima.
ticotexas
Car: ???

My understanding is the CVT O/D off button on the shifter would change to higher rpm's and more power. But I'm not sure it is working right on this car. It feels more like a car stuck in first gear. The rpm's never seem to reduce at higher speed. They can reach 5k to 6k and never seem to "shift". I had sometimes used it when going up a steep hill more slowly, but then afterward I smell a burning odor. The car seems to drive normally with O/D on. I took it to a dealer a while back regarding the odor and they just said there were no error codes and the transmission is operating normally. But trying it again on a recent hilly trip caused the same odor. So that prompted me to search out these forums. Any thoughts?

PalmerWMD
Car: 2004 350Z

Its hard to diagnose this over the internet. I have some experience with your generation of Alti ( I had a much loved 14).
I seem to remember leaving it in sport mode as long as I was in town. Seemed to work fine.
My suggestion to you is to"test drive" at a dealer a 13-15 Alti and see if it behaves the same..

If not I'd have a dealer diagnose it.

PS: Welcome to the Nico forums!! :yesnod
Sorry it too a while for u to get a response.... :frown:

amc49
Car: '11 Nissan Versa
'17 Nissan Altima

The higher rpm is simply burning the oil that has leaked out of engine in minute amounts. Maybe check the valve cover for leaks. Normal engine at slower speeds burns off some oil but not all, the higher speeds do the rest.

The 5 to 6K rpm may well be normal, since all cars now are pretty much expected to stay in OD as the normal driving mode they have lowered the gear before that to rev higher than they used to. My Versa with NO CVT does the same thing when you kill OD to drop back into a true 3rd gear, it is a much lower gear than oldschool ATX used to have.

rabidus
Car: 2011 Nissan Rogue
2012 Nissan Quest