Where is the location of the fuel pressure regulator

A forum for the legendary Nissan Pathfinder and Infiniti QX4.
baurox
Car: 99' Infinity Qx4

Hello -

I've been having some starting issues, where the car cranks but doesnt turn over right away, takes a couple times. But if i turn the key on 2-3x without cranking it, it will start up. I replaced the fuel pump the other day, filter was replaced about 7k miles ago. Now I want to swap out the fuel pressure regulator, but I have no idea where that's located.

Honestly, I'm a noob to this car, so if someone can please post an image or two in regards to the location, that would be awesome. I've been googling all morning, and can't seem to find a picture from a pathfinder or QX4 in regards to the fuel pressure regulator.

Thanks a bunch!

Towncivilian
Car: 2001.5 Pathfinder SE 3.5L 2WD A/T
2007 Altima 2.5L CVT
2012 Sentra 2.0L CVT Special
2012 G37 Sedan 7A/T

Have you tried replacing the fuel pump relay with another of the same color, first?

Welcome to NICO!

baurox

I have not, and I was going to do that, but couple people told me the relay has nothing to do w/ it starting since that part was electrical...etc. I'll give it a shot, would i know if the relay is bad or not before replacing it ?

Also FYI, once I go throughout my day (after the initial startup), the car more or less starts up fine and quick. So IDK

baurox

and also, arent relays lifetime parts ? (technically)

Towncivilian
2007 Altima 2.5L CVT
2012 G37 Sedan 7A/T

I've had my A/C relay die.

The relay could be sticking in certain cases. It's worth a try I think, a relay is cheaper than a fuel regulator.

baurox

Ok, ill give it a shot.

Now, the pump is working when i turn the key, like i hear it...that's how i know the car will start after say 2-3x in the morning when i start my day. So can the relay still be at fault somewhat in that case?

Towncivilian
2007 Altima 2.5L CVT
2012 G37 Sedan 7A/T