Upgrading 93 240sx

Information on the naturally-aspirated KA24E and KA24DE engines.
mlese216

I recently bought a 93 240sx and I was wondering what upgrades I should install to make the car really haul *** when I have my foot to the floor. I was looking at an Injen intake for about $200 and was wondering what else I could do to boost performance. Oh yea, im a beginner so try not to get too technical.

240SXy
Car: 1993 240SX coupe

LSD, header, exhaust. Welcome to you, I just bought a 93 coupe in July. It is the greatest car ever! ( Well, it's a lot better than all the other cars I've had, even my first, an 88 Taurus.)

Zebrahead
Car: cars, basketball, girls, fishing

Ok, I'll be patient.

First, welcome to the boards. Please feel free to use the search button in the upper corner before you post.

Second, about the car. Is it a coupe? Because that's what I have, a 93 coupe. My suggestion, if you don't plan to spend too much money, would be to first complete your exhaust system. A good exhaust system and a header would run around $800, and would give you around 10 horsepower (about 4-5 to the wheels). Get an intake next, because the car can now push out more exhaust without backpressure from the old, small exhaust.

Once you have those three, its all up to you. I'd get a good, strong clutch, like a Clutchmaster Stage 2, or a ACT stage 2. Stock clutches start to slip after a while of hard driving. Find out if your car has a LSD (Limited Slip Differential), and if it doesn't, get one. An LSD makes the power equalize between the two wheels when traction is lost (aka a slide, burnout, etc) so you don't just spin one tire. It greatly increases traction, and is great if you plan to do a lot of straight line races.

After you have the I/H/E + clutch/LSD, you'd have a pretty quick car. You could expect a 15 or so in the quarter mile.