Transmission fluid change - necessary to change filter and pan gasket

A forum for the legendary Nissan Pathfinder and Infiniti QX4.
sledder12
Car: 2002 Pathfinder LE 3.5 V6

Never changed tranny fluid before, but seems fairly straight forward. Car has 148,000 kilometers. Fluid looks brown, no idea service history as I just bought it. I was simply going to remove the drain plug and refill with the same amount that drained out. Or should I replace the filter, which makes me a bit more nervous as I've never done anything like this before. Thanks.

Pwnin O'Brien

Changing out the trans fluid is EXTREMELY simple, if you know what you're doing. Make sure you accurately measure the amount drained so you know how much to put back in. Too much can damage the transmission.

Without knowing the service history of the vehicle, I would highly recommend changing out the trans filter with a new one and resealing the oil pan. This job is also really easy and won't take much time. Of course, if you don't know what you're doing and don't work much on cars, then you may not want to tackle this job. The new filter and gasket are really cheap and will provide peace of mind.

longhornsqx4
Car: 2001 Nissan Pathfinder 3.5L VQ35DE

Dont touch the filter or pan, simply drain fluid, fill same ammount back in (check on dipstick)

Theres quite a few members from here in your area in Ontario.

Im sure some could help you

sledder12

Okay, so new filter/gasket or just drain and refill?

If I decide to do a new filter do I need a new gasket?

Also, what is the torque setting for the pan bolts?

Thanks

Pwnin O'Brien

Actually I just completely forgot that when you remove the oil pan you need to replace all of the bolts (18 of them) since they are self-sealing. If you do not replace with new bolts then you may get a leak. This will increase your costs a bit.