TIPS: S15 Helical Installation

General discussion forum about the 240sx, and a great place to introduce yourself to the board!
94_240sx
Car: 94_240SX

There are many intsllation/how-to articles out there, so I won't do the write up. I have some tips though, so I'll just cover those. I've never worked on one before. I have s13 with open diff and swapped the internal with s15 Helical.

First, I bought the diff on eBay last year. I choose 'By ship' delivery option and it took about a month for me to receive it from Japan. If you are not in a hurry, that's way to save some money.

I drained the fluid first, spray PB Blaster and got all the bolts and nuts loose before I take the diff out from the car. Like bolts for the cover, filler plug...etc. I figured it would be easier that way since I don't have a vice.

Output shafts and driveshaft bolts were not easy to loose. I used 2 wrenches and hit one with rubber mullet several times to let them loose. Also I had to turn output shafts/driveshaft to access them bolts and nuts. I used parking brake to lock and unlock output shafts, and put the gear on neutral to turn driveshaft. I didn't remove stock rear sway bar.

I've found this bucket is very useful when I was working on it once it was out of the car.

You will see 2 holes, and you can put a flat head screw driver to open the cover. Then used paper knife to clean up the gasket.