Starting problems on with my q45

A Q45 forum / Cima forum for the President of Infiniti's lineup. Brought to you by Infiniti Parts USA, your OEM source for Q45 parts!
kenny2303
Car: 97 q45

Hey im Kenny im new to nico forums Im hoping for some some diagnosis advice with my 97' q45. Ive owned it for about 4 months now, when I purchased it, it was bone stock. Ive replaced some suspension parts so far to it, added a custom exhaust to it and added some of my own style to it (Had to put some 20s on it with high performance tires).

Back to the question. Sometimes when I get into it ill turn the key over (all the lights turn on as normal) but the starter will not crank so ill turn the key back off and flip it over again and it will normally crank and fire immdiatly. Over the last couple of weeks its taken a few try to get it to fire but as of today I was stuck at the grocery store for about 10 minutes trying to get it to turn over. I replaced the batter about 2 weeks after buying the car so I do not believe that is the problem. Ive replaced the negative terminal also and I would of replaced the positive but my local auto parts stores dont seem to carry one like that. Im also unable to locate the starter ive looked on the passenger side by the tranny and im still not seeing it. Some help or opinions on location and diagnosis would be greatly appreciated thank you.

OwnerCS

Welcome to NICO!

I've seen this problem occur in Infiniti I30s from the same period when the starter switch goes out. I can't find a video of how to test and replace the switch on a 97 Q45. Though there are some videos for this for I30s and Maximas from the same time period.

kenny2303

Thanks for the input ill try to find more out about that, if im not able to it looks like ill have to take it to a mechanic since this is my only car at the moment and Ill need it to be reliable for work..

kenny2303