sohc noob help

Your premier source for information on the Turbo KA: KA24E-T and KA24DE-T (KA with aftermarket turbo kit)!
mastercloak

Hey i'm pretty new to just about everything that could possibly relate to cars, engines, and more importantly turbo...i don't understand how to get a turbo set up on any motor. i don't know anything about oil lines, oil pans, manifolds, down pipes, timers, maf's, map's, chips, tunes....nothing... i mean i see the terms i just don't understand why they're used, what they're used for, and how they work.

i've had my s13 for about 2 months now.. and I'm looking to go turbo here soon.. i'd like to keep the sohc ( why not just keep it and run it as long as it goes?)

anyways i'd like a list of parts that i would need to make my ka a ka-t... literally everything that i would need, and every step that would have to be taken to get it turbo'd (idk the past tense of turbo)... a full write up would be great, i just haven't been able to find any sohc write ups....

thanks

sx moneypit
Car: 2010 370Z
1986 Toyota MR2

Try this>>>faq-and-kat-info-t99647.html Good luck with your project!

mastercloak

much appreciated sir!

wa-chiss
Car: 1990 Nissan S13 H/C KA24E
2005 Toyota Sequoia
1976 Honda CB750F Super Sport

JGS has an awesome log style turbo manifold for the SOHC

ojperformance.com has a TON of KA24E & DE parts available. More SOHC than DOHC.

Oil lines: They supply the oil to and from the turbo. Very vital for any turbo to work for more than a few minutes.

Oil pan: The bottom most part of the engine. It holds the oil needed to lubricate the engine. The stock pan will be just fine with a turbo set-up. You'll just need to have a fitting welded into the drivers side of it to accept the oil return line from the turbo. No big deal. Just about anyone with a welder can do it.

Manifolds: exhaust manifolds (obviously aftermarket) will hold the turbo and carry the exhaust gasses to the turbo. 3 basic styles log, tubular, and equal length.