Qx4 transponder keys - programming question

A forum for the legendary Nissan Pathfinder and Infiniti QX4.
donald
Car: 2001 Infiniti QX4 (RIP, 2011)
2010 Pathfinder LE

Hi everyone! As you may know, I'm a newbie (from my low post count :gapteeth: ) to my newly acquired 2001 Qx4. As much as I love it, I was only given 1 set of key and key fob (1 transponder key and 1 keyless entry remote).

I share the fear with most that I might lose the keys and thus spoiling my drive for some time.

I perused the forums and found a site that sells blanks and key fobs for relatively cheap:

Key: http://www.originalkeyless.com/2001-Inf ... er-Key.htm ($25)

Remote: http://www.originalkeyless.com/2001-Inf ... Remote.htm ($50)

although I may end up buying the keys from eBay: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1999-200 ... ccessories

The situation here is in regards to "who" can program the blank key.
I called Nissan and Infiniti dealerships, and this is what I got:
Infiniti: $10 cut + $70 program
Nissan: $free cut + $60 program
I was told the program cost of $70/60 is for the labor, as they need to hook up a programmer to the car or something.
The interesting thing is that the Infiniti/Nissan dealership I called are 2 separate lots, but they are owned by the same Dealer owner(s)!!! :laugh:

Anyway - the BIG question is, does it matter if Nissan or Infiniti programs? Will Nissan be able to program my Infiniti key properly?

Logic tells me "YES, they're the same process", but I don't know for sure if they used the same security processes or applications for the transponders and it's encoding.

Thanks in advance for any input! :wavey:

Chuck Tribolet
Car: '01 Nissan Pathfinder, '87 Corvette, '01 Camry daily driver, '98 Boston Whaler Montauk

1. Go to your local Ace Hardware. They have the keys (at least for PF) and can
program them cheaper.