MAP and IAT questions

Your premier source for information on the Turbo KA: KA24E-T and KA24DE-T (KA with aftermarket turbo kit)!
SloS13

This might be kind of a dumb post, but why would it be so hard to get a MAP/IAT combo to work on our cars?

Seems like all that would need to happen is a bit of research on a good IAT/MAP combo and their voltage outputs and a couple mathematical formulas using their output voltages would have to be done, then make a little black box with a microprocessor in there to do the math and spit out a voltage for the ECU to see and you'd be set. Oh yeah, and of course a potentiometer for injector correction.

Am I missing something? Ive heard that such devices have been made but cost a ton of cash. Im no electrical engineer, but it doesnt sound too overly complicated to me.

I wouldnt doubt theres even someone on this board whose smart enough to figure it out. Add a couple of dials and voila', a product that could be universal for any MAF car.

Comments?

WDRacing
Car: 95 240SX, 99 BMW 540i, 01 Chevy Express, 14 Ford Escape

There are a couple of tech heads that patrol here. Maybe you guys can brainstorm. As of now, the AEM EMS is the biggest thing coming down our paths.

WD

huguetpj
Car: 93 KAT Coupe

Don't know much about MAP sensors, but I do have an EE degree and love DIY stuff... so I'll chime in.

First off.... materials. Microprocessor, either with internal or external ROM for the correction map. Does the MAP sensor require a control circuit (kinda like a WB02 sensor)? Couple of regs, maybe just one. Potentiometer... or much better have the uP have some serial connection to the PC for tuning... not that hard anyway.