larger capacity oil filter

Forum for Infiniti M35 and M45, and Nissan Fuga owners.
mac1183
Car: 06 M45S

I searched and found this thread about which oil filter from a while ago

what-oil-and-oil-filter-do-you-use-t506439.html

I was wondering if anyone investigated finding a larger capacity oil filter for the car. It appears the Mobil M1-207 would do the job.

thoughts?

atlM35

Just curious, why do you want a larger oil filter?

Larz
Car: 2019 Q70-L RWD

First off, I'm not a mechanic by ANY means, so I'm wondering what the purpose of a large cap filter is? Is it used to drive further between oil changes or are you considering NOT changing filters with each oil change?
My view is that, aside from washing the car, oil changes and filters are the cheapest yet among the most important things we do for the life of our cars. I like to save money on just about any repair or maintenance project for my M, but oil and filters would be the last place I'd try to save or stretch.
I'm also wondering if a larger filter (if it means larger volume and less resistance) would reduce the pressure with which the oil circulates and what effect that may have on the engine.
Perhaps one of the tech guys in here could shed some light.

svard75
Car: 06 M35x

Nothing wrong with a larger filter to extend oil changes. I prefer to keep it simple and just use oem.

mac1183

Larger capacity to increase the amount of filtration surface area within the filter and increase (slightly) the overall oil capacity of the system. Almost every oil filter cut & compare out there note the amount of filtration element surface area and how inadequate many filters are.

Would not consider it as a means of saving money, but to provide better filtration a more capacity to the system.

More capacity will help lower (again slightly) the overall oil temps.