Just got a used 97 max (Auto). What can I do to improve MPG?

The club for Nissan Maxima and Infiniti I30 / I35 owners, and the official home of Maxima Club of America!
ctguitarguy

Hey everyone, i had a 97 automatic altima whos tranny has been going for awhile, and would cost far too much for me to fix so i went and got me my first maxima. This is a 1997 maxima GLE automatic, with about 126k miles on it (i got it for 2800). I just got the thing, but so far it runs very well, but then again im no mechanic. So i have done some research and i know the basic things i can do to increase mpg, tire pressure, A/C, etc.

I want to be proactive this time around (unlike the altima) and do all the maintenance stuff sooner then later, what would you guys recommend i do? Full tune ups? tranny fluid flushes? fuel filter replacement? etc etc. I don't know what oil the prior owner used, but i'm guessing the standard petroleum based stuff. I know maxima's are gas hogs, especially the 90's models, but i really liked these cars none the less and decided to get one anyway and wanted to know what i could do to get the best mpg's out of the car (beyond making sure i drive conservatively).

Whatever you guys do recommend i do in terms of maintenance/servicing, please be sure to mention the best brands/model parts for this as well, so i can get the best bang for the buck, i figure these cars are so common you guys will know exactly what i need.

loystock
Car: 10 Pilot, 97&03 Q45s, 97 I30 and 06 M35 Sports (04 G35 & 99 I30-RIP)

Make sure the engine can breathe well and properly lubricated as well as the transmission. That means fluid replacement. Clean/check the entire air intake - air filter, MAF sensor and Throttle Body. Replace air filter annually. Clean the MAF sensor with zero-residue contact cleaner or CRC MAF Sensor Cleaner. Clean the Throttle body with Carb Cleaner but DO NOT SPRAY DIRECTLY INTO THE BUTTERFLY VALVE AND BODY (use a rag).