If Nissan doesn't hate convertible Z32 owners, why do windshields cost $738.68?

The Nissan 300ZX (Z32) general community discussion forum
pizxed off
Car: 1993 300 ZX convertible

I used to tell everyone who I could get to listen how much I loved my '93 ZX convertible. The timeless look reminiscent -- to me, anyway --of '60's-era Ferrari California’s, the bulletproof little 3.0 liter engine, the solid handling, etc., etc.. That, unfortunately, was before time and bad luck began working against me. Once I started having to replace things other than routine or maintenance parts, the love affair fizzled. I'm not in the auto business, and I'm not a mechanic. I'm just a driver. But here is what I know, and what I don't know. I don't know how a person is expected to me a Z32 convertible enthusiast if there is no way to get certain parts. I know that Nissan is apparently not legally required to keep a complete inventory of parts for a given model longer than 10 years. The aftermarket apparently only carries the parts they think will be in the greatest demand. From '90-'96 there were only 6500 or so of the Z32 convertibles made and sold. All of this adds up in 2009 to prices for Z32 convertible parts closer to what you expect from Ferrari than from Nissan, IF you can even get them. Again, remember I'm talking about the convertibles, not the coupes. Maybe the coupes are just as pricey, but I doubt it. For a car that Blue Books for only $5,500 or so, for my '93 convertible I've paid $2,000 for a replacement top stack (the mechanical part of the convertible top) that took six months to be delivered, approximately $750 for a wiring harness, and, if you can believe it, $738.68 for a windshield . I expect for the next few months I'll be seeing $738.68 pebbles flying off the backs of trucks in my dreams. I'm completely disgusted with the thought of owning a car that I can't buy parts for. So much so that I'd really like to hear from anyone who could advise me and/or contribute to