HOW TO: Replace Electromagnetic Coil for A/C Compressor Clutch

Forum for Infiniti M35 and M45, and Nissan Fuga owners.
Sstupid
Car: 2007 Infiniti M45 Sport

Hi! I have a 2007 M45 with 198K miles on it. I bought it about 3 months ago for $6400. I'm a shade-tree mechanic and didn't see any indications that this was a bad deal, so I went for it. The seller was a co-worker, so I knew some of the history of the car. It went back and forth between Austin and San Antonio about 4 times per week, which is why the mileage was so high. I knew there would be some hiccups here and there and this is the first, which happened 2 months after I bought it. The A/C stopped blowing cold a couple of weeks ago. I checked the connector at the A/C electromagnet for 12V and had it, so that meant the electromagnet was faulty. Can you replace that part? Sure can.

Disclaimer:
I am not responsible for you getting hurt or messing up your car. Be safe and be careful.

The car:

Tools:
1) 1/4" ratchet
2) Shallow 10mm socket for 1/4" ratchet.
3) 10mm nut-driver, or you can use the ratchet
4) Serpentine belt tool or you can use a 1/2" ratchet with a shallow 14mm socket.
5) Strap wrench or a set of oil filter pliers, or a very large pipe-wrench. You'll see what I'm talking about.
6) Small pry-bar or large flat-blade screwdriver.

Stuff you need that costs money:
1) Electromagnet for A/C compressor clutch: $99.50.
2) Craftsman snap ring pliers - $26.50. You actually need a larger pair than this as well to have the exact right tools, but I couldn't find one. This did work but the job was more difficult because of it.
3) Serpentine belt tool - $15.99 at Harbor Freight
4) (Optional) 6-pack Shiner Bock - $7.99

Infiniti quote to replace compressor - $1947.43

HOW TO: