hmm why discontinue the 6MT you ask...... (It's NOT discontinued, BTW)

General Discussion forum for Versa Owners
Adiaz360

Makes you wonder why they would discontinue the 6MT. Hmmm..i have one and i love it...except for a couple things. Now, i'm no mechanic by any means, but i've driven sticks before, and the gears on the V seem rough. I dunno, i wish i could buy a sport shifter for it or something to make it a little smoother. ALSO in between 1 and 2nd gear if i leave it between gears it will make a horrible grinding noise but i have my Clutch pushed ALL the way down, maybe its b/c its new, i dunno. Anyone know if there is even a short shifter, or sport shifter out that would fit the V? let me know..thanks guysAdam D. = Versa owner

BBISHOPPCM
Car: 2006 Murano S/AWD w/ Convenience Package

I wanted to buy an SL 6/mt but the dealer wouldn't order it for me Well, I'm glad I got the CVT in the end, it's a great transmission, but I do miss owning a manual.

Elmojo
Car: 2007 Versa SL

I haven't heard anything about the 6MT being discontinued, but it would not surprise me in the least.

I have the 6MT, and I can say from extensive past experience with both Nissan and other vehicles, that this is the absolute worst transaxle I've ever had the misfortune of dealing with.

In fact, this, along with the weak gas mileage, are the only two complaints I have with the Versa.

The shifting is horrible, the clutch is jerky, and all the gears are about 15-20% too short.

I think dropping the 6MT is a smart option. Now if they would just replace it with a decent 6-spd transaxle and offer us poor current owners some sort of swap/upgrade option, the world would be a better place indeed.I'm not holding my breath.

Cheers!

M2Motoring
Car: 2007 Nissan Versa, 2005 Scion xB, 2002 Nissan Xterra, 1990 Mazda Miata, 1998 Mercedes Benz Slk230