HELP! i messed up my timing... =(

ONLY for ADVANCED technical discussion about the 240sx!
jinjinweiwei
Car: 95 240SX

So I wanted to learn how to replace the distributor, and I got through the uninstall/ reinstall part, but now the car won't start. HELP! here is what i diduninstall the bad distributor and put on the good one. at first the whole thing won't go in, so i took it out and turn the rotor a little( there is my problem)

put it back on the engine try to start the car.....well you guessed it.... the motor turns but car dont start, and it shakes really bad.

I admit I am a total newbie at this and I screwd it up, so dont flame me please.

would really be greatful if you guys can help me to get the timing back to normal...

car is 95 240SX auto KA engine

rogoman
Car: 1991 240SX FB
2012 Altima 2.5 S

First you need to find Top Dead Center (TDC) for the compression stroke in order to time the ignition distributor. To find TDC, remove #1 spark plug and disconnect the ignition coil wire. Have someone tap the ignition switch start position to slowly crank the motor while you put you hand or thumb over the spark plug hole. When you feel the compression, stop. Now look down at the timing pointer at the front pulley. It should be pointing to ZERO. If not, manually turn the motor clockwise or counter-clockwise by hand until it's pointing to ZERO. Now determine the #1 plug wire location on the distributor cap. Mark that location on the distributor body. Now insert the distributor into the block, meshing the gears so that the rotor ends up pointing to the mark you put on the side of the distributor body. You now are timed close to correct; you should be able to start the motor.