For those of you wondering what a Rogue drives like...

Nissan Rogue forum - Includes Nissan Qashqai and Nissan Dualis as well.
boostedwagon
Car: 02 Subaru Impreza WRX

Disclaimer: I work in sales for nissan.2nd disclaimer: I am a long-time Subaru fan

All Nissan salespeople (in Canada at least) have had the opportunity to drive pre-production Rogues. Here are my impressions of the car.

From a static viewpoint, the car has some good points and bad points. It's pretty (in the right colour) and is a lot like a Murano, but this means it's a love-it-or-hate-it proposition. In addition, the interior is much smaller than the other two vehicles, and rearward visibility suffers from the styling. This is not an updated X-trail.On the other hand, it's not an X-Trail inside. The cockpit feels like a cockpit, not a micro-mini-van like the CRV. Fit and finish is very good, and it really feels like an Altima rather than a Sentra, if you know what I mean. Rear cargo space is limited. The organizer tray does nothing for me personally.

Now for the drive. Bear in mind I am stepping out of a 300hp, tuned supension WRX wagon and I hate driving automatics...This car is a hoot! You can actually feel the AWD pushing you out of corners, almost like a rwd-bias AWD setup. The paddle shifters (which I initially scoffed at) work great. The only thing I have a complaint about is the handling nannies interfering with my "exploring the handling envelope" and cutting the power on gravel, but it is not under-powered in the least. Forward visibility was good too, with everything in the right place, and just a general feel of control. Corners totally flat, maybe a touch of understeer if you go in too hot. Let me put it this way: the SE-R Sentra should have been this much fun.

Oh, and the stereo pounds, like all top-end Nissans these days.

In a nutshell: reduced utility, more fun-to-drive, and apprently it will have best-in-class fuel efficiency.

-bw

originalstarlite