Engine wants to die, acts like im out of gas.

General discussion forum about the 240sx, and a great place to introduce yourself to the board!
komprecce

I dont know if i should post this in the KA forum so please move it if it should. My car acts like its running out of gas, the engine hiccups like im about to run out of fuel even when i have a full take of gas.This has been a gradual problem. First it was just when I first started the car, it would kick over then act like it would want to die. Sort of like the engine wasnt getting enough fuel or spark etc. After I put it in to drive it was fine. Now tonight it did it at the start but wouldnt stop. Everytime i would stop at a redlight it acts like im out of gas and want to die, so i jump on the freeway, so it can get plenty of gas and even at high speeds its acting like its hiccuping for gas! What could it be guys? Fuel pump, spark pluggs, fuel filter etc??? i know this must seem like a real newbe question but im new to import motors so I need some advice.

-k

skylinedreams
Car: 90 240sx

hmmm i wanna say fuel pump but those usually just die. But its a start my 90 had issues starting before and started sputtering while driving. then one morning I started my car and it stalled and would start again. the cause my fuel pump died. dont ask me how to test if your fuel pump is gonna die cuz I have no idea.

MeanGreenS13
Car: 2011 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD

clogged filter, clogged injectors, bad fuel pump... or something else but try those first

StricNyne

maf

chrislis
Car: 1998 240sx sE!

i had this problem twice.

first time: MAFsecond time: EGI fuse.

xekushnr
Car: '90 240sx Hatch

you may have a vacuum leak. make sure all the vacuum hoses are secure and there are no leaks.

chmercer

somone move this to a tech forum?

S13Coupe
Car: S13 Coupe