Easiest way to change your Transmission Fluid?

A Q45 forum / Cima forum for the President of Infiniti's lineup. Brought to you by Infiniti Parts USA, your OEM source for Q45 parts!
Q45Owner
Car: Infiniti Q45

So I decided to change my transmission fluid for the second time today and as I was underneath looking for a drain plug ala my Maxima and previous Lexus's that I've had over the years, lo and behold, I did not see one. So instead I got out my handy hand pump and pumped out about 3 full quarts through the dipstick opening and refilled with Mobil 1 ATF. Anyway, I could have sworn I read on here that there was a drain plug for the transmission somewhere, but I guess there isn't one? Is the only way to drain from underneath is by dropping the pan? I've never done that before so I'm a little unsure if it's a messy and/or difficult process. Can anyone that's done this chime in so I have an idea on how to do this next time? Thanks

qship96
Car: 1996 Q45

19mm drain plug on trany pan.i can get 5+ quarts out pulling the plug and letting her drip for a few hours if parked on a incline with the nose of the car pointed up.Easiest maintenance item on the Q there is.

SanCarlosQ45
Car: 1994 Q45 144,000
2013 Nissan Xterra Pro-4x
1967 MGB GT Special

Early transmissions(90-~93) left the factory without a drain plug, inline cooler or dual row cooler in the radiator. Many dealerships added a pan with a plug as well as an inline cooler which is what the 91' transmission I put in has. Maybe someone replaced your pan with an earlier one? Is the pan flat on the bottom with no ridges?