Driveshaft Click?

Forum for Infiniti M35 and M45, and Nissan Fuga owners.
EvilIntentions
Car: 2006 Infiniti M45 Sport

I have searched high and low, on this forum and others, and have not come up with any definitive information for this issue, so please excuse if this has been covered before as I'm a NOOB! :mike

My car is a '06 M45 Sport. Symptoms with the car are that I hear a clicking sound, that seems to be coming from the rear brakes, when braking. I do not hear the noise at slow speeds, but I can't say definitively that it is not there. I put the car up on jackstands this past weekend all to hear a similar clicking when I roll a rear wheel back and forth while in neutral, I feel a small thud through the tire as well that is in time with the click.

I'm thinking that I have a bad u-joint at the front of the driveshaft (seems to be the point from which the noise is coming.)

Given all this, first, do I seem to have diagnosed this correctly? Secondly, does anyone know if the service manual is correct in that a complete driveshaft is needed to fix this issue, or are we able to service the front u-joint through some DIY magic? I have read about the FX having simliar issues, and there being a work around to a full driveshaft replacement.

Any and all information you folks can offer is greatly appreciated! :cheers:

DeanM45
Car: 2006 Infiniti M45 Sport 1 or 2 mods

I too have the same issue on my 06 M45 sport. I thought it was the suspension settling but a driveshaft makes more sense. While at a standstill, if I put the car in drive, click, put in in reverse click, in park or neutral no click.

The00Dustin
Car: 2006 M45