DIY: Quaife LSD install in a BASE 350Z

Nissan 350z / Nissan 370z general community discussion forum
acidjake75
Car: 05 DB Z

I posted this on other forums so I thought I would share..

I recently installed my LSD. A buddy of mine with a 240sx also did his at the same time.. Its going to be short and sweet and PLEASE DONT BE INTIMIDATED by this. It was quite easy and Im no mechanic, Im just good at following directions.

First thing is first - GET THE FSM (Factory Service Manual) so you will know what foot lbs of torque to use when you put everything back together. THIS IS A MUST - IF YOU DONT HAVE THE FSM - DONT START THIS PROJECT.

btw - I save 400 bucks on the install ...

MODS please move to DIY section - I cant make a new thread in there.

First - Jack up car (in my case - cars)

Get everything ready and take pics of your very expensive purchase..

Get under the car and start taking stuff off - you will need a 14MM socket and 17MM... the 14mm is for the axle bolts. The 17 is for the driveshaft bolts..

unbolt the driveshaft and MAKE SURE you have a towel or something to lay it on cause you DONT want to mess up that bad a$$ carbon fiber..

Another pic - just for reference..

Now there is one bolt (17MM) on the back of the diff that holds it in place - remove it..

Now that everything is unbolted - make sure you remove the breather hose tube and 2 (12mm) sensors (these are for speedometer) - theres one on each side closest to the axles.. YOU WILL NEED help on this part - Pumpkin is HEAVY!

Drain your Diff - here is my way of doing it cause that pumpkin is HEAVY.

remove all the bolts on the diff cover - they are all 14mm

After removing the cover (screwdriver and soft mallet) remove the axles. They actually slide right out after a few taps.. so be gentle and REMEMBER WHICH SIDE IS WHICH!! <--- very important!

Now here is bearing housing bolts - 17MM (again) - IMPACT them bad boys off - AGAIN, remember which side is which..