95 Maxima Transmission

The club for Nissan Maxima and Infiniti I30 / I35 owners, and the official home of Maxima Club of America!
ram_maximus
Car: 1995 Maxima GLE

Hello everyone,

I have been royally screwed! Yep! That is me... I recently bought a 95 Maxima with what they claimed was 87000 miles on it. My odometer failed after a day or two! So not too sure if that is the right mileage on the car.

Anyways I have a 95 Maxima GLE with A/T. The tranny is dying. I need to replace it. Checked with a dealer who quoted $3200 to do it. A Transmission dude quoted $1700 to rebuild it. After hopping through a lotta forums, I found that an used tranny could be bought from a junkyard and put in.

I am a total newbie to cars and don't know anything about them except to drive them! So..where do I start. Please help. I really hope this would be the last forum I would be posting this request in!

Thank you!

maxhopper
Car: 02 Maxima SE 6spd

What exactly is going on with your tranny?

You can check http://car-part.com/ or ebay for a tranny.

As for doing the job yourself, it can be done by 2 people over a weekend - provided you have the right equipment, a Haynes or Chilton manual, and are mechanically inclined.

audtatious
Car: 2017 Q60 Red Sport. Gone: 2014 Q50s, 2008 G37s coupe, 2007 G35s Sedan, 2002 Maxima SE, 2000 Villager Estate (Quest), 1998 Quest, 1996 Sentra GXE

If you can find a used tranny with low miles, I would prefer that to a rebuilt one. For some reason, I have had bad luck with rebuilt tranny's.

If you decide to DIY, then find a friend who has done it before and have them help you out. It's not really a "hard" job, just very labor intensive. If you DIY, I would suggest replacing the CV boots while you are at it. The boots are cheap and you don't know how many miles are on the existing ones.

ram_maximus