350Z DIY: Changing The Window Motor.

Nissan 350z / Nissan 370z general community discussion forum
rmezz13
Car: Had 2004.5 Nissan 350z
Have 96 f250 and mommas 07 Murano

Some of you may have had this happen, and it really sucks. I was un able to get my window up when my motor went out though, which made it even more of a PITA. Well here are some pictures and pretty in depth instructions and tips to help you with replacing it yourself. (The way i did it) --If your window is not stuck down, secure it using glass suctions, for holding windshields, or i was going to use folded rags and vise grips.....

Note: I am not a professional in auto mechanics or electrical.

These are the only tools required, besides your own two hands. (I did this alone).

The first thing to do is remove the tab in your door handle that covers the screw (using the flat head screw driver), which secures the handle and window/lock switches to the door panel.

Using the fillips head screw driver, remove the screw.

Now remove the door handle and locate the tabs securing the wire harness' for the door locks & power windows.

Using the flat head, push down the tabs and pull the male end out of the wire harness with your other hand.

You can now locate 2 of the 3 bolts/screws that secure the door panel to the door. Using the 10mm socket, 3" extension, and the 1/4" drive socket wrench - remove the bolts/screws.

Located behind the interior door handle is a plastic covering with a hole cut in it, that goes around the rubber piece that is there to stop the handle. This is where i pry the flat head screw driver to remove that plastic piece.

Behind that piece, you will find the 3rd and final bolt/screw that secures the door panel. Using the 10mm socket, 3" extension, and 1/4" drive socket wrench, remove the bolt/screw.

At this point you can pull the door panel off by hand. There are only tabs holding it on now, and they all will pop off.