21,000km service??? Is it necessary? Can I use a shop other than a dealership?

General Discussion forum for Versa Owners
ADOversa
Car: 2008 Versa S 6MT Hatch, 2005 Chevy 3500 LWB

So I called for an appointment to get my oil change done, and my car is at 21,000 km and I was told I would need to get this servicing done to rotate tires do brake maintenence and I forget what else. It is supposed to cost around $230, which is a good chunk of change when I'm a full time student. So my question is... Will having a friend (who is a mechanic and has his own shop) do this maintenence as opposed to the dealership affect my warranty? Obviously I would have the receipt and maintence record print out from him for my files. Would putting this off until the summer affect my warranty?

iluvmyVersa08
Car: 2008 SL Sport

ADOversa wrote:So I called for an appointment to get my oil change done, and my car is at 21,000 km and I was told I would need to get this servicing done to rotate tires do brake maintenence and I forget what else. It is supposed to cost around $230, which is a good chunk of change when I'm a full time student. So my question is... Will having a friend (who is a mechanic and has his own shop) do this maintenence as opposed to the dealership affect my warranty? Obviously I would have the receipt and maintence record print out from him for my files. Would putting this off until the summer affect my warranty?
Ya I'm at 21000 km and I'm not getting that done. They tell you to do all that but its not really necessary.I'm not getting my tires rotated because I just took off my winter tires and rotated the stock tires when I put them back on. And the brakes do not need to be changed. They are still fine. Unless your brakes are not working for some odd reason you don't need to get it done. Just tell them all you want is the oil change they can't force you to get it done.

frankoV
Car: 2008 SL Sedan, Magnetic Grey, CVT

21k is only LOF anyway.