1991-1994 240sx: WATER PUMP REPLACEMENT/coolant change

ONLY for ADVANCED technical discussion about the 240sx!
vancouverbc
Car: 1991 240sx

Tutorial Index

WATER PUMP REPLACEMENT( click medium pics to see large):

Advisory: I'm no expert. Just sharing my experiences. Be sure towear SAFETY GLASSES as boiling hot coolant burns your eyes out and burns any exposed flesh.

Is the weeping hole on water pump leaking coolant?. This signals thatyou need a new water pump. Dont delay.

(Note: the 4*10mm bolts may not come withnew pump. The 4*10mm studs in old pump are hard to reuse. length: 12mm not including head. Use lockite)

1.Drain coolant. See Coolant change article at end of this article.2. Take off intake piping.3. Remove fan and coupling together(4*10mm) and fan shroud . I took off only the top half of shroud. Squeeze plastic clips with pliers to free it.(pic)

Fan and coupling come off together:

Top of fan shroud(click small pics to enlarge)

4. Free the water pump/crank/power steering belt by pushing pwr steering pump down and away from passenger side . Push up and towards passenger side to tighten belt.There is one 14 mm nut and one 14 mm bolt to loosen. You may need back off the long tensioning bolt.

This is the 14mm nut you loosen. It is the nut that locks the tensioner.

Second thing to loosen. It is a 14mm bolt on opposite side of pump fromtensioner:(this is a HICAS power steering pump so your pump may have one less bolt to loosen)

Tensioning bolt(dont remove. Pic is for interest):